Community Engagement

PPG Foundation Scholarship Program

Helping students achieve their academic goals

PPG Foundation Scholarship Program

2020 PPG Foundation National Merit Scholarship Program winners

PPG launched its scholarship program in partnership with the National Merit® Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) in 1956 as a way to recognize high school students for their hard work and achievements, as well as to support their pursuit of higher education.

Since then, the PPG Foundation has awarded more than 3,000 scholarships to students across the U.S. who are either children of PPG employees or who attend school in communities where PPG has a presence. All PPG Foundation scholarships span up to four years of undergraduate college study, or until undergraduate degree requirements are complete, whichever comes first.

Margaret Jankowski

Scholarship recipient and intended pre-med student

Margaret Jankowski

Receiving this scholarship from PPG is a honor since this is just another example of how PPG strives to invest in its communities; I am grateful that my academic performance has been recognized by a global leader in innovation and technology. 

The PPG Foundation Scholarship Program is administered through the National Merit Scholarship Program - the largest, independently financed competition for college undergraduate scholarships in the U.S. All aspects of the selection of winners of the PPG Foundation Scholarship Program and the administration of their awards are handled by NMSC. Scholarship winners are selected by NMSC based on the results of students’ Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®) during their junior year of high school.

See the 2020 scholarship recipients below and click here (PDF) to learn more about the students.

*Employee-Child Recipient

Additional 2020 winners not pictured above include Austin Barnes, Emma Hayes, and Nina Kisanga*. Congratulations to all of these outstanding scholars! 

Click here (PDF) for the 2019 employee-child scholarship recipients.

Sue Sloan Award recognizes community service commitment

Each year, the academic talents and outstanding community service commitment of one PPG employee-child recipient are recognized with the Sue Sloan Scholarship Award. Established in 2019, the award honors Sloan, the former executive director of the PPG Foundation, and a director of National Merit Scholarship Corporation’s Board from 2008 to 2014, for her lasting mark on PPG’s community engagement efforts and the National Merit Scholarship Program. Congratulations to the 2020 recipient, Andrew Johnson, son of Christina Johnson, PPG general accounting specialist lead, corporate finance.

"This recognition inspires me to continue this pursuit at Notre Dame and to give back to the community like PPG does in many ways," said Johnson.

Featured Scholars

Hear advice to students from these past recipients.

We use cookies on this site to enhance your browsing experience, measure our audience, collect useful information to provide you with more relevant ads, and allow you to share what you’ve been doing on the site on social media.
To find out more about how we use cookies or for more options click HERE. By clicking on "I accept" button you are indicating your consent to our use of cookies. I Accept